One Day You’ll Burn: A LAPD Detective Tully Jarsdel Mystery

One Day You’ll Burn: A LAPD Detective Tully Jarsdel Mystery

"A brilliant first novel. Joseph Schneider's contemporary writing evokes some of Hollywood's most classic crime stories, from Chinatown to LA Confidential." —Dick Wolf, creator of Law & Order Detective Tully ...

The Measure of Malice: Scientific Detection Stories

The Measure of Malice: Scientific Detection Stories

Mystery crime fiction written in the Golden Age of Murder The detective's role is simple: to catch the culprit. Yet behind each casual observation lies a learned mind, trained on ...

Facets of Death: Detective Kubu

Facets of Death: Detective Kubu

A prequel to the award-winning Detective Kubu series David Bengu has always stood out from the crowd. His personality and his physique match his nickname, Kubu—Setswana for "hippopotamus"—a seemingly docile ...

Give the Devil His Due: A Rowland Sinclair Mystery #7

Give the Devil His Due: A Rowland Sinclair Mystery #7

For fans of Rhys Bowen, Kerry Greenwood and Jacqueline Winspear comes an adventure-packed romp that threads 1934 Sydney’s upper class and its seedy underworld. Wealthy Rowland Sinclair, an artist with ...

The Phantom of the Opera: Haunted Library Horror Classics

The Phantom of the Opera: Haunted Library Horror Classics

The first in the Haunted Library Horror Classics series presented by the Horror Writers Association. An unabridged edition of the novel that inspired the famous Andrew Lloyd Weber musical. Deep ...

Fell Murder: A British Library Crime Classic

Fell Murder: A British Library Crime Classic

Mystery crime fiction written in the Golden Age of Murder A classic Golden Age mystery from acclaimed author E.C.R. Lorac '...this crime is conditioned by the place. To understand the ...

Murder in Rat Alley: A Blackman Agency Investigation #7

Murder in Rat Alley: A Blackman Agency Investigation #7

In this unusual spin on the classic spy novel, murder strikes from our wartime pasts… Iraq War veteran Sam Blackman with his prosthetic leg and his no-nonsense private eye partner ...

Featured Series

Haunted Library Horror Classics

Mystery Delivered Monthly

The Poisoned Pen Press Newsletter

Recent Articles

Feature

My Kingdom for a Plot! by Warren C. Easley

Article originally posted on www.bookreporter.com To paraphrase one of Shakespeare’s kings—you know, the one they found under a parking lot in Leicester a few years back—“A plot, a plot! My kingdom for a plot!” I love to write, always have. Give me a scene, any scene, and I’ll flesh it out for you. Give me two people caught in a face-to-face encounter, and I’ll capture their dialogue. Show me a setting, and I’ll bring it alive, replete with sights, sounds, ... Read More

Feature, Interviews

Violence Is Golden: PW Talks with Martin Edwards

Interview published by Publishers Weekly In Gallows Court, Edwards captures the spirit of detective fiction’s golden age between the world wars. PW: How did you come to write Gallows Court? Martin Edwards: The real driver was my recent involvement in the revival of golden age fiction, as consultant to the British Library’s Crime Classics and author of The Golden Age of Murder. So it made sense to have a go at writing a novel set during the golden age. I wanted ... Read More