Give the Devil His Due: A Rowland Sinclair Mystery #7

Give the Devil His Due: A Rowland Sinclair Mystery #7

For fans of Rhys Bowen, Kerry Greenwood and Jacqueline Winspear comes an adventure-packed romp that threads 1934 Sydney’s upper class and its seedy underworld. Wealthy Rowland Sinclair, an artist with ...

About The Author

Sulari Gentill

After setting out to study astrophysics, graduating in law and then abandoning her legal career to write books, Sulari now grows French black truffles on her farm in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains of NSW. Sulari is author of ...

Reviews of

Give the Devil His Due: A Rowland Sinclair Mystery #7

“Australian author Gentill’s seventh installment featuring Rowland Sinclair is as fun and consuming as his previous novels. The writing is superb, providing fascinating historical context as well as depth in his characters. Highly recommended for fans of the series and historical crime mysteries.”

Library Journal (starred review)

“An ideal recommendation for fans of the flair and humor of Kerry Greenwood and the skillful plotting of Agatha Christie.”

Booklist

“The relationships of Gentill’s well-developed characters continue to evolve as this fine historical series takes a darker tone with the rise of fascism in Europe.”

Publishers Weekly

“This 1930s Sydney is vibrant and authentic, and the inclusion of a relevant newspaper cutting at the beginning of each chapter is a neat touch… in order to get the best value out of this highly original series with its quirky characters… seek out the earlier titles and follow them in sequence.”

Historical Novel Society

“[D]evil of a good read.”

The Herald Sun

“This is a great addition to a fun Australian mystery series… a fast-paced and captivating novel set during a turbulent period in Australia’s history. Containing an intriguing mystery, a unique sense of humour and a range of historical characters, this is a highly recommended read for lovers of Australian fiction.”

Sydney Morning Herald

“This sprightly take on the gentleman-detective novel couldn’t be more charming…Sinclair makes a dynamic but thoughtful hero, and the sobering political moment is artfully balanced by Gentill’s fizzy portrait of Sydney’s high society, more loosey-goosey than its British counterpart.”

Air Mail

FacebookTwitterEmail
Goodreads